BAFTA Awards: Mourning for Prince Philip at the award ceremony

BAFTA Awards
Mourning for Prince Philip at the award ceremony

Prince Philip in 2017

© IMAGO / Parsons Media

The BAFTA Awards took place over the weekend. The British Academy not only awarded its prizes, but also thought of Prince Philip.

Despite the corona pandemic, the British Academy of Film and Television Arts also honored actors and films at the BAFTA Awards in 2021. During the award ceremony, the organizers remembered Prince Philip (1921-2021), who died on April 9 at the age of 99 and who became the organization’s first president in 1959, on several occasions.

The presenters Edith Bowman (47) and Dermot O’Leary (47) declared among other thingsthat the British Academy was “deeply saddened” by the death of Prince Philip. “It has been the support of Prince Philip and Her Majesty the Queen over all these years to BAFTA […] in many ways allowed us to continue through difficult times and still be here in 2021. ”

Prince Philip, the Duke of Edinburgh holds a special place in BAFTA history. Your thoughts are with the Royal Family. The organization had already chosen similar words in a communication after the death of Philips. Prince William (38), who is currently President of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts, canceled a planned appearance after Philip’s death.

New record for Anthony Hopkins

For his portrayal of a person suffering from dementia in “The Father”, Anthony Hopkins (83) was named Best Actor – the fourth BAFTA Award in his career. Hopkins was honored as the oldest actor in this category to date. He sat down against Riz Ahmed (38, “Sound of Metal”), Adarsh ​​Gourav (26, “The White Tiger”), Mads Mikkelsen (55, “Another Round”), Tahar Rahim (39, “The Mauritanian”) and the late Chadwick Boseman (1976-2020, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”). In addition, the film by director Florian Zeller (41) was awarded for the best adapted screenplay.

Meanwhile, the winner of the evening was “Nomadland”, which was not only honored for the best film, but also for the best camera. “Nomadland” maker Chloé Zaho (39) was honored as the best director. This stabbed her colleagues Thomas Vinterberg (51, “Another Round”), Shannon Murphy (“Babyteeth”), Lee Isaac Chung (42, “Minari”), Jasmila Zbanic (46, “Quo vadis, Aida?”) And Sarah Gavron (50, “Rocks”).

The award for the best leading actress went to the drama with Frances McDormand (63). Yuh-Jung Youn (73) was honored as best supporting actress for “Minari”, while Daniel Kaluuya (32) was honored as best supporting actor for “Judas and the Black Messiah”.