Emmy Awards 2022: new feat for Squid Game, Succession and The White Lotus are a hit

The nominees for the 2022 Emmy Awards have fallen and it is “Succession” and “The White Lotus” which dominate the competition with a distinction for “Squid Game”, the first foreign series to be nominated.

L’Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has just revealed the names of the series in the running this year for the prestigious Emmy Awards ceremony. The official selection was announced on July 12 by JB Smoove (Larry and his navel) and Melissa Fumero (Brooklyn Nine-Nine).

This 74th edition will be held live on September 12 next across the Atlantic and will have to decide between the series of the year in different categories. Among the most named are, unsurprisingly, the phenomena Succession and The White Lotus – series for which almost the entire cast has been named!

Above all, Squid Game achieves a new feat: the success of Netflix is ​​the first foreign fiction to be named in a major category! Disappointment on the other hand for Stranger Things, which receives only one nomination in a main category – best drama series.

Will the streaming giant continue its Emmy dominance after the successes of The Crown and The Queen’s Game ? Here is the list of nominated series of the main categories!

BEST DRAMA SERIES (2021 Winner: “The Crown”)

BEST COMEDY SERIES (2021 Winner: “Ted Lasso”)

BEST MINI-SERIES (Laureate 2021: “The Queen’s Game”)

BEST TELEFILM (Winner 2021: “Dolly Parton: It’s Christmas with us”)

BEST ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES (2021 Winner: Olivia Colman in “The Crown”)

  • Melanie Lynskey (Yellowjackets)
  • Zendaya (Euphoria)
  • Reese Witherspoon (The Morning Show)
  • Laura Linney (ozark)
  • Jodie ComerKilling Eve
  • Sandra Oh (Killing Eve)

BEST ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES (2021 Winner: Josh O’Connor in “The Crown”)

  • Lee Jung-jae (Squid Game)
  • Jeremy Strong (Succession)
  • Bob Odenkirk (Better Call Saul)
  • Brian Cox (Succession)
  • Adam Scott (Severance)
  • Jason Bateman (ozark)

BEST ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES (2021 Winner: Jean Smart in “Hacks”)

  • John Smart (hacks)
  • Quinta Brunson (Abbott Elementary)
  • Kaley Cuoco (The Flight Attendant)
  • Elle Fanning (The Great)
  • Rachel Brosnahan (The Marvelous Ms. Maisel)
  • Issa Rae (Insecure)

BEST ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES (2021 Winner: Jason Sudeikis in “Ted Lasso”)

  • Bill Hader (barry)
  • Steve Martin (Only Murders in the Building)
  • Martin Short (Only Murders in the Building)
  • Jason Sudeikis (Ted Lasso)
  • Nicholas Hoult (The Great)
  • Donald Glover (Atlanta)

BEST ACTRESS IN A MINI-SERIES OR TELEFILM (2021 Winner: Kate Winslet in “Mare of Easttown”)

  • Margaret Qualley (maid)
  • Amanda Seyfried (The Dropout)
  • Toni Collette (The Staircase)
  • Sarah Paulson (American Crime Story)
  • Lily James (Pam and Tommy)
  • Julia Garner (Inventing Anna)

BEST ACTOR IN A MINI-SERIES OR TELEFILM (2021 Winner: Ewan McGregor in “Halston”)

  • Michael Keaton (dopesick)
  • Andrew Garfield (By order of God)
  • Colin Firth (The Staircase)
  • Oscar Isaac (Scenes from a Marriage)
  • Himesh Patel (Station Eleven)
  • Sebastian Stan (Pam and Tommy)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES (2021 Winner: Tobias Menzies in “The Crown”)

  • Matthew Macfadyen (Succession)
  • Kieran Culkin (Succession)
  • Nicholas Braun (Succession)
  • O Young-su (Squid Game)
  • Park Hae-soo (Squid Game)
  • Christopher Walken (Severance)
  • Billy Crudup (The Morning Show)
  • John Turturro (Severance)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES (2021 Winner: Gillian Anderson in “The Crown”)

  • Sarah Snook (Succession)
  • Rhea Seehorn (Better Call Saul)
  • Ho Yeon Jung (Squid Game)
  • Christina Ricci (Yellowjackets)
  • Julia Garner (ozark)
  • J. Smith Cameron (Succession)
  • Patricia Arquette (Severance)
  • Sydney Sweeney (Euphoria)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES (2021 Winner: Brett Goldstein in “Ted Lasso”)

  • Brett Goldstein (Ted Lasso)
  • Toheeb Jimoh (Ted Lasso)
  • Nick Mohammad (Ted Lasso)
  • Brian Tyree Henry (Atlanta)
  • Henry Winkler (barry)
  • Tyler James Williams (Abbott Elementary)
  • Bowen Yang (Saturday Night Live)
  • Tony Shalhoub (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES (2021 Winner: Hannah Waddingham in “Ted Lasso”)

  • Janelle James (Abbott Elementary)
  • Hannah Einbinder (hacks)
  • Sheryl Lee Ralph (Abbott Elementary)
  • Hannah Waddingham (Ted Lasso)
  • Juno Temple (Ted Lasso)
  • Alex Borstein (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
  • Kate McKinnon (Saturday Night Live)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A MINI-SERIES OR TELEFILM (2021 Winner: Julianne Nicholson in “Mare of Easttown”)

  • Connie Britton (The White Lotus)
  • Jennifer Coolidge (The White Lotus)
  • Alexandra Daddario (The White Lotus)
  • Kaitlyn Dever (dopesick)
  • Natasha Rothwell (The White Lotus)
  • Sydney Sweeney (The White Lotus)
  • Mare Winningham (dopesick)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A MINI-SERIES OR TELEFILM (2021 Winner: Evan Peters in “Mare of Easttown”)

  • Murray Bartlett (The White Lotus)
  • Jake Lacy (The White Lotus)
  • Will Poulter (dopesick)
  • Seth Rogen (Pam and Tommy)
  • Peter Sarsgaard (dopesick)
  • Michael Stuhlbarg (dopesick)
  • Steve Zahn (The White Lotus)

Find all the nominations (main and technical) on the official website of the Emmy Awards. And meet on the night of Sunday September 12 to 13 on Série Club, the exclusive broadcaster in France, to find out the results.

Source link -103