Japan wins the World Pastry Cup in Lyon

This is the third Japanese victory since the creation of the competition in 1989. France and Italy came in second and third positions.

Japan won the Pastry World Cup on Saturday, ahead of France and Italy, at Sirha, the major event for catering and hotel professionals, in Chassieu, near Lyon. The great qualities of Japanese pastry chefs are “attention to detail, perseverance, commitment“, underlined the president of the competition, the famous French pastry chef and chocolate maker Pierre Hermé.

This is Japan’s third victory since the contest was established in 1989, the last being in 2007.The level of the competition rises from edition to edition, as evidenced by the tight results“said Pierre Hermé. The jury was particularly seduced by their dessert to share around the theme of wind and lightness.

More than 50 competing countries

Seventeen teams from all over the world – each made up of a chocolate maker, a sugar expert and a master ice cream maker – took part in this final, which was organized over two days. More than 50 countries had taken part in the selection processes.

The president of the French team, Yann Brys, expressed his disappointment after this second place. “This is not the result we want“, he acknowledged:”it’s always difficult as a place even if it’s a beautiful place“.

Jeremy Massing, from the French team – who came in second place, is preparing a creation. JEFF PACHOUD / AFP

The special eco-responsibility prize was awarded to Canada, while this edition was placed under the theme of climate change. The candidates had to imagine their creations around this theme and use raw materials that respect the environment, while additives and dyes were prohibited.

Candidates had ten hours to prepare 42 tasting desserts – including “popsicles– and three artistic pieces, one of which is sculpted water ice.

Team Canada’s Ross Baisas carves the ice. JEFF PACHOUD / AFP
Kwang Man Jung, from the South Korean team, applies himself to his creation.

The last two editions were won by Malaysia (2019) and Italy (2021). Among the winners of past editions are the Belgian Pierre Marcolini (1995) and the French Christophe Michalak (2002) and Jérôme De Oliveira (2009).

SEE ALSO – Chef Guy Savoy explains how he developed his sense of taste

Source link -94