Several stars leave the DFB: Goretzka “not ready for action” after kicking the neck

Several stars leave the DFB
Goretzka “not ready for action” after kicking the neck

National coach Hansi Flick has to juggle personnel again on the last business trip of the year: After the successful World Cup qualifier against Liechtenstein, five players left the DFB entourage early. It is the second major wave of departures.

The German national soccer team will travel to the last international match of the year on Sunday without captain Manuel Neuer, Julian Draxler, Leon Goretzka, Marco Reus and Antonio Rüdiger (6 p.m. / RTL and in the live ticker on in Yerevan against Armenia. National coach Hansi Flick will only have 19 players left for the final World Cup qualifier, including three goalkeepers. The DFB selection as group winners has already bought the ticket for the World Cup finals in Qatar.

Goretzka suffered “a bruise in the head and neck area” after a bad foul in the early stages of the 9-0 win against Liechtenstein on Thursday evening in Wolfsburg, according to the German Football Association. Therefore it is “not ready for use”. The Bayern midfielder was hit in the neck by Jens Hofer. The Liechtensteiner saw the red card, Goretzka played after a short treatment time until he was substituted at half time. On Thursday evening, Flick was still optimistic that Goretzka could fly to Armenia.

Draxler was out on Thursday due to a muscle injury. Antonio Rüdiger saw the second yellow card in the game and is suspended. “Manuel Neuer and Marco Reus are leaving for reasons of load control,” said the DFB. Captain Neuer could be replaced in Yerevan by Marc-André ter Stegen, who was one of four nominated goalkeepers who was not in the squad in Wolfsburg.

The departure from Goretzka and Co. is the second big wave of departure that caught the DFB entourage as part of its end-of-year trip: After defender Niklas Süle tested positive for the corona virus on Tuesday, four of his contacts in addition to the Munich man had to leave: Joshua Kimmich, Serge Gnabry, Jamal Musiala and Karim Adeyemi.

source site-59