Spain declares 5 federal states to be risk areas! What that means for vacationers

So far, only German holidaymakers from Hamburg have been affected, from August 16, Berlin, North Rhine-Westphalia, Saarland and Schleswig-Holstein will also be declared risk areas.

All travelers aged 12 and over are then required to test and provide evidence without exception. When entering Spain, holidaymakers must submit a negative rapid antigen test, a PCR test or their proof of vaccination and recovery to the Spanish authorities and inspectors.

In addition, the digital entry form “Spain Travel Health” must be completed. The document can be downloaded from the official app Android smartphone owners click here and iPhone owner herer.

What do vacationers need to know?

Unvaccinated travelers should be aware that not all rapid antigen tests will be accepted. The QR code required for the European health certificate must be printed on the documents. At the same time, the contact details of the laboratory, the test procedure, the test date, the name of the person tested and the address must be listed.

Vaccinated persons must carry their vaccination documents with them both digitally and in paper form. The yellow vaccination card is sufficient if it shows that the vaccination has been completed. Spain accepts cross vaccinations and also the vaccines from Astrazeneca, Johnson & Johnson, Biontech / Pfizer and Moderna.

Those who have recovered must present a positive PCR test carried out by a laboratory at least eleven days ago. The document is then valid for 180 days. Positive proofs that were created in January or the beginning of February are therefore invalid.

CovPass apps for Android & iOS are available here:

The rule applies to all German vacationers

The regulation applies to holidaymakers who enter Spain by plane or via the highways and country roads. Spanish authorities are requested to stop and spot-check cars, motorhomes and motorcyclists with license plates from the five federal states.

Where else do holidaymakers have to submit tests and evidence upon departure?

German travelers sometimes have to present evidence or tests when they go on vacation. Many countries carry out their own classifications, thereby tightening the entry requirements.

A test requirement for children and adults applies, for example, to Bulgaria, some border areas in Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Ireland, Iceland, Croatia (flight only), Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia (only Flight), Slovenia, Spain (five federal states), Hungary and Cyprus.

Travelers can check the exact rules via the European Union’s official Re: Open app. The app can be downloaded here.

Do you want an even deeper understanding?

Well informed through the crisis with our Corona guide: Experts explain what you now need to know about Covid-19.