Unanimous: Duma votes for annexation of Ukrainian territories

Without dissenting vote
Duma votes for annexation of Ukrainian territories

A few days ago, the sham referendums in south-eastern Ukraine brought the expected results. Putin subsequently recognizes accession to the Russian Federation. And the Russian parliament has now – unsurprisingly – unanimously ratified the annexation, which violates international law.

After the annexation of the four Ukrainian regions of Luhansk, Donetsk, Zaporizhia and Cherson by Russian President Vladimir Putin, the Russian parliament has now ratified the incorporation, which has been criticized as a violation of international law. More than 400 deputies voted unanimously for the regions to be included in the Russian Federation.

Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov, who was present as a guest, emphasized that the regions are now under the country’s special protection. On Friday, Kremlin chief Putin signed internationally unrecognized accession agreements with the occupiers deployed by Moscow. The Duma still had to approve it. Subsequent approval by the Federation Council is considered a formality.

The annexation, which violates international law, will only be completed with the adoption of numerous laws for the integration of the areas, which are also planned for Monday, including the automatic granting of Russian citizenship. The Federation Council must also approve these laws. Then Putin still has to sign the incorporation laws. A transition period until 2026 is planned until the laws are fully implemented.

Internationally, the illegal annexation is not recognized. However, Russia’s Constitutional Court sees no violation of Russian laws. The admission of the Luhansk, Donetsk, Cherson and Zaporizhia regions to the Russian Federation is in accordance with the constitution, the court in St. Petersburg said on Sunday, according to the TASS state agency.

According to reports, the four areas will keep their names. Luhansk and Donetsk are to be given the status of republics – i.e. with a higher degree of autonomy, while Cherson and Zaporizhia only have the status of regions. The Russian currency, the ruble, is to be introduced in the four regions at the beginning of 2023. The regional parliaments are to be elected in September next year.

source site-34