Watzke and Rummenigge refuse: Super League clubs vie for Bayern and BVB

Watzke and Rummenigge refuse
Super League clubs vie for Bayern and BVB

Twelve clubs are planning the harshly criticized football revolt: the establishment of a Super League. Although the German representatives in question quickly refused, according to a media report a back door remains open so that Bayern and BVB can also benefit from the really big money.

According to a “Spiegel” report, the twelve founding clubs of the new Super League want to bring the German record champions FC Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund on board. This emerges from a contract that the news magazine reported on. Accordingly, the board of the new league, which has been sharply criticized by fans and associations internationally, should offer membership to Bayern, BVB and French champions Paris Saint-Germain “as soon as possible”. The German clubs should be given a response period of 30 days.

The Bavarians, BVB and PSG should therefore be considered as “proposed additional founding members”. As it is said, they would also be entitled to their share of the 3.5 billion euros that should be distributed at the start of the league. In addition, “Spiegel” reports that at least two clubs from England, France, Germany, Italy and Spain should be among the 20 Super League clubs.

Watzke and Rummenigge already refuse

The Munich CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge and BVB managing director Hans-Joachim Watzke had previously expressed their disapproval of the Super League. “FC Bayern did not participate in the planning of a Super League,” said Rummenigge. “We are convinced that the current statics in football guarantee a serious basis.”

Watzke said that the opinions of BVB and Bayern in this matter were congruent with those of the club association ECA, which had expressed clear criticism. “I will never support a competition to which there is no open access. A closed society like in the American NFL, NHL or NBA, this is not our football – and in my opinion it cannot be either,” said Watzke den ” Ruhr news “.

The founding members include Liverpool FC, Manchester City, Manchester United, Chelsea FC, Arsenal FC and Tottenham Hotspur (all England), FC Barcelona, ​​Real Madrid, Atlético Madrid (all Spain) as well as Inter Milan, AC Milan and Juventus Turin (all Italy). Initially, 3.5 billion euros should be available for the founding associations. This would significantly exceed the income from the previous Champions League. The Super League is to be played with 20 clubs.