WhatsApp will allow you to forget your excesses of the day before thanks to a relaxation of the rules concerning the deletion of messages. It is now possible to make a message disappear up to 48 hours after sending.
To delete a message at H+48, nothing really rocket science: go to the conversation concerned, make a long press on the missive that you no longer really assume and then click on the small trash can at the top right. If your message is recent enough, a “Delete for all” option should appear in the pop-up window. In three clicks, the message will disappear into Internet limbo. To erase it from the memory of the recipients is another story, however.
Be careful though, the functionality comes with a small black dot. It is necessary that all participants in the conversation are using the latest version of WhatsApp so that the message disappears everywhere. As the site’s help page states, “you won’t get a notification if deleting a message for everyone didn’t work.“It may also be that photos, GIFs and other media are saved on recipients’ phones automatically. If so, deleting the message in the conversation does not mean that the photo has disappeared from everywhere.
So be careful, this feature is not a joker to say anything. Even so, the delay offered by WhatsApp is more generous than that of many other services. On Signal, for example, it is only possible to delete a message 3 hours after it has been sent. As for iMessage (in its beta version which allows deletion), it’s barely a handful of minutes. Telegram, on the other hand, allows you to delete messages without a time limit (in private conversations) and also offers a 48-hour delay for group conversations. It is now possible to make a message disappear up to 48 hours after sending.