World footballer election is coming up: Haaland competes with Lewandowski

World footballer election is coming up
Haaland competes with Lewandowski

Acting “World Footballer of the Year” is Robert Lewandowski. The Bayern striker could do it again, because the Pole is up for election again. But the competition is top-class – and Erling Haaland also comes from the Bundesliga. There are also four Germans to choose from.

National coach Hansi Flick, Chelsea coach Thomas Tuchel as well as national goalkeeper Manuel Neuer and goalkeeper Ann-Katrin Berger can hope for awards in the elections for the best football professionals of the year. The four Germans are on the list of candidates for “World Footballer of the Year” published by FIFA on Monday. All winners will be announced on January 17, 2022 in a virtual TV show at FIFA headquarters in Zurich.

World footballer Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern) has been nominated again and could repeat his triumph from last year. The Polish striker has to assert himself against ten opponents, including Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Lionel Messi (Paris St. Germain), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool FC) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United). Meanwhile, not a single professional from the country of EM finalist England is on the FIFA shortlist.

No German is nominated for the women. The ex-Wolfsburg Pernille Harder (FC Chelsea) is available, as are the Champions League winners Jennifer Hermoso, Aitana Bonmati and Alexia Putellas from FC Barcelona. According to FIFA, the selection of the respective candidates was made by two expert panels for women’s and men’s football.

Former Bayern coach Flick and Champions League winner Tuchel compete with Italy’s European champion coach Roberto Mancini, among others. Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool FC), who won in 2019 and 2020, is missing from the list of seven nominees.

Goalkeeper Neuer has to assert himself against European champions Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG), among others. Berger, who plays at FC Chelsea, has competition from ex-Wolfsburg Hedvig Lindahl (Atlético Madrid). The period for voting is from November 22nd to December 10th. The national team coaches and their captains, journalists and fans vote on the best players and coaches in a combined vote.

source site-33