- WhatsApp channels provide opportunities for companies, organizations and people to communicate with multiple contacts at the same time.
- You can avoid WhatsApp channels by installing an old version of WhatsApp.
- Created channels can be deleted again.
WhatsApp recently rolled out a new function with its channels. A channel is a way for companies, organizations and people to communicate with multiple contacts at the same time. In contrast to groups and communities, you can think of a channel more like a newsletter. Subscribers cannot respond to messages published there.
You can find the option in the new “Current” tab, which replaces the “Status” tab. However, all features of the old tab are integrated into the new one. Apparently the merger bothers some users and they are wondering whether the function can be deactivated.
There is currently no option to hide or deactivate channels, but you can try to avoid them on Android phones by installing an old WhatsApp version from August. Then the “Status” tab should be visible again instead of “Current”. You can find out what you need to pay attention to in the linked instructions.
Old version may help temporarily
Also note that this is not a permanent solution. At some point you will have to update to the current WhatsApp version and then you will no longer be able to avoid the channels.
This is how you unsubscribe to channels
If you have subscribed to one or more channels and no longer want to follow them, you must proceed as follows, according to WhatsApp:
- Opens the channel.
- Tap on the three dots in the top right corner.
- Now select unsubscribe.
This is how you can delete your created channels
Have you created a WhatsApp channel yourself and no longer want to use it? Then you can of course delete it. According to WhatsApp, you have to do the following:
- Open WhatsApp and click on the “News” tab at the bottom.
- There you select the channel you want and click on the name.
- Now “Delete channel” appears.
- A warning message appears saying “It will not be possible to restore the channel” and “Previous activities will remain on followers’ devices.”
- Click on “Delete”.
- Select the country using WhatsApp and add your phone number.
- Now finally click on “Delete”.
Note that subscribers can still find your channel, but will see a notice that it has been deleted. Your last messages saved on your phone can still be viewed by you.
We will explain to you how you can create a WhatsApp channel yourself in the linked instructions. We will also tell you whether the Netflix and Amazon Prime Video channels are worth it.
Don’t miss anything with this NETWORK WORLDNewsletter
Every Friday: The most informative and entertaining summary from the world of technology!