Robert Lewandowski: Bayern star again honored as world footballer

Robert Lewandowski
Bayern star honored again as world footballer

Robert Lewandowski has once again been voted “World Footballer of the Year” by FIFA.

© Alex Gottschalk/DeFodi Images via Getty Images

Robert Lewandowski has again been voted “World Footballer of the Year” by FIFA. Thomas Tuchel is happy about the coaching title.

Robert Lewandowski (33), the superstar of FC Bayern Munich, has successfully defended his title as “World Footballer of the Year”. The Pole received another award from FIFA at the online event in Zurich after his triumph last year. In the Ballon d’Or election at the end of November, he had to admit defeat to Argentinian Lionel Messi (34). Now he relegated the Paris St. Germain player to second place. Third was Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah (29).

In a first statement, Lewandowski, who switched live, said: “I am very proud and honored.” In his brief speech, he recalled his predecessor, Bayern legend Gerd Müller (1945-2021): “Without him none of this would have been possible.” Before the award ceremony, FIFA also honored the deceased Müller with pictures from his career.

Thomas Tuchel is the “Coach of the Year 2021”

A German was also among the winners: Thomas Tuchel (48), coach of top English club Chelsea, won the title of “Coach of the Year 2021” – mainly because of his triumph in last year’s Champions League. His Chelsea colleague Emma Hayes (45) was named “Coach of the Year 2021”, “Footballer of the Year 2021” was the Spaniard Alexia Putellas (27) from FC Barcelona.

Bayern goalkeeper Manuel Neuer (35), who was named best goalkeeper last year, went away empty-handed this year. His place as the title holder is now taken by Édouard Mendy (29), also from Chelsea FC in London.

By the way: Since 2016, both the Ballon d’Or and the title of FIFA World Player of the Year have been awarded. The Ballon d’Or is considered to be a little more prestigious. The real difference: Only journalists vote for the Ballon d’Or, while journalists, fans and the coaches and captains of the national teams vote for the FIFA election.


source site-38