Women’s cup final on Saturday – GC as a lurking outsider against FCZ – Sport


The cup final promises excitement not only because of the special affiche. You can see the game live on SRF.

When it comes to the Swiss Cup, no other team is as experienced as the FCZ women. In the past 10 years, the Zurich women have won the title 6 times. In the last 6 events (there was no final in 2020 due to Corona) you were always in the final.

So also this year. But the signs are different than in 2021, when Lucerne won the title: The opponent is GC, the strengthened city rival, who finished the newly created regular season of the Women’s Super League just one place behind Zurich in third place. The fact that the game takes place in Letzigrund only increases the explosive nature of this derby final.

live notice

open box
close the box

You can watch the cup final between GC and FCZ live on Saturday from 4:50 p.m. on SRF Zwei and in the Sport App.

Ljustina vs ex-team

Ella Ljustina, who has been playing for GC since this season after two and a half years at FCZ, does not allow any sentimentality before the game. “It’s definitely special, after all I’ve had great experiences at FCZ and benefited a lot from experienced players like Martina Moser and Fabienne Humm,” says the 19-year-old. “But I’m particularly motivated because it’s my first cup final.”

The Croatian-Swiss dual citizen boosted her self-confidence with four goals in Sunday’s 8-1 thrashing of YB in the Women’s Super League. The preparations for the highlight of the season suffered quite a bit on Wednesday. With 0:7 GC had to admit defeat away from Basel.

Captain Walker hopes for light-heartedness

For GC captain Laura Walker it is clear that the role of favorites belongs to the FCZ women, who have scored the most goals in the league so far (65 in 18 games). But she sees chances: GC surprisingly won the main rehearsal against the same opponent in the championship two weeks ago with 1-0. “We can make history for GC and we want to,” Walker said.

The women of FC Schwerzenbach, who later became part of the GC organization, last won the cup title in 2008.

source site-72